New Email Scam – Loveth Dioh
June 9th, 2008
Attention all Members!
Please be aware that there is a new email scam targeting users of this site. We received various messages from users alerting us to this suspicious email and upon further investigation we have identified this as an email scam that has been known to target other sites also.
Please keep a look out for this email and should you receive it, please DELETE it immediately.
Message Subject:
Student Enquiry from FindMeATeacher.com!
Body:
lovethdioh44@yahoo.com
Hello dear
My name is Loveth Dioh i saw your profile today and became intrested in you,i will also like to know you the more,and i want you to send an email to my email address so i can give you my picture for you to know whom i am.
Here is my email address (lovethdioh44@yahoo.com)I believe we can move from here!
I am waiting for your mail to my email address above.
I love you
Miss Loveth.
=================================================
Please be careful when responding to messages you receive
via FindMeATeacher.com. If an email appears suspicious then please
treat it accordingly and alert us immediately here at findmeateacher.com.
Please remember to spread the word!
Coaches Education Instructors Lessons Teachers Tutors
![]()
Will Riley is a private tutor, musician, author and consultant. He also has an extensive background in Internet Marketing. Will was fortunate enough to marry his passion for teaching with his Internet marketing experience when he was the sole founder of FindMeATeacher.com in 2004.
Do You Make THESE Mistakes When Marketing Your Lessons?
11 Responses to “New Email Scam – Loveth Dioh”
August 1st, 2008 at 5:23 am
Jeff Brent Says...
I received this email today which bears all the earmarks of the typical scam that we all receive from time to time, I’m sure that a good number of other teachers on this site have been contacted too.
You might want to advise them to beware.
Here is the text:
Hello Jeff Brent – Music Teacher,
You have a new student enquiry
from findmeateacher.com.
Students Name: Terry Bradford
Students Email: terry_bradford57@yahoo.co.uk
Message:
————————
Hello ,
My daughter would be coming for 2 months holiday in the US and i want her to use the period of her holiday to learn the fundamentals of Music beginning from August 20th. Could you please provide me with your rates, your present Location of teaching and qualifications and then we can move on from there. I await your quick response as soon as possible.
Thanks.
Terry Bradford
+447024086909
————————
Note: Please DO NOT reply directly
to this email. You must only reply to
the students email address listed above.
Thanks,
Find Me A Teacher
http://www.findmeateacher.com
————————
March 10th, 2009 at 2:05 pm
Tammy Says...
This person is now on the http://learningguidenetwork.com. I was curious about this email, and decided to find this “phone number” online and found this page, and saw the exact same email he used. Pleased be aware of this person.
Hello ,
Thank you for your response for a yoga teacher for my daughter. Her name is Deborah and she is 18 years of age, she reads and understand musical notes and plays guitar really good. She developed love for yoga about 10 months ago after the death of my wife. I want her to learn more from your own style of yoga, thus this lesson would take her mind off the death of her Mother.
Please be informed that, my daughter is a beginner and you would teach her from the elementary stage, she would be having a 8 weeks, 4 times a week and for an hour private lesson (please let me know the total rate for the above specified times of lesson and what days of the weeks would be suitable for you). I would be making arrangements with my PA to issue and make the payment to you in form of Certified Cashiers Check. My daughter is due to be in US for her holidays and lesson in less than 3 weeks which is just round the corner and i want her to begin lessons on the 30th of April and so there is limited time. As soon as i have your full name and address including your contact number to which the payment would be issued and sent to, i would immediately pass it to my PA who would immediately issue and send the payment to you. I await your urgent response to these.
Regards,
Justin Walson
+447024086909
March 10th, 2009 at 2:06 pm
Tammy Says...
The email address was from “justinwalson@yahoo.com”.
March 10th, 2009 at 5:56 pm
Danielle Kellar Says...
I ALSO just received an email from this Justin Walson. He sent me the exact same email about his daughter wanting to learn yoga and everything! I typed in his phone number and found this page. I was feeling a little weird about his email he sant and am glad I went investigating!!
April 19th, 2009 at 12:25 am
amy Says...
accidentally replied to this email and gave them all my info… now i’m worried, is there anything i can do?
April 19th, 2009 at 10:48 am
FindMeATeacher.com Says...
Amy,
I am curious as to exactly what information you gave them. As long as it was just general info about your rates, qualifications, etc then you should be ok. Remember, you should never give any delicate information out over email to anyone you don’t already know.
Because you responded to the initial email, you will probably receive another email from them soon regarding payment and payment methods. They will probably ask if they can pay for the lessons upfront with a cheque – and so the scam goes into action.
If students are keen to have lessons with you then there should be no problem with them paying you in person. Anyone wanting to send you money and prepay for lessons before they have even met you, should always raise a red flag.
April 23rd, 2009 at 11:43 pm
John Taylor Says...
Great blog. Do you know of any relevant marketing forums or discussion groups?
May 22nd, 2009 at 3:14 pm
Linda Says...
I replied to this, too–they have my name, address, and phone number. Any ideas about what I can do at this point??
May 23rd, 2009 at 5:27 am
FindMeATeacher.com Says...
Linda,
There’s not much you can do once you have already given them your details. Your best plan of action is now to do nothing and make sure you don’t give them anymore of your personal information.
Remember, if you are ever unsure, even in the slightest, always be very wary about giving any of your personal details to anyone who you have not yet contacted by phone.
May 25th, 2009 at 3:43 am
LG Says...
I just received this same email from someone named Lee Mark. I asked them who referred them to me and they didn’t answer but immediately wanted to make payment arrangements. I too was suspicious especially since they didn’t specify exactly what kind of lessons they wanted. I too sent my rates and credentials. I did an internet phone number search and came upon this site. Upon closer examination I saw that the first email was adressed to a BentonHess@aol.com. I’m not even sure how it ended up in my INBOX. Sounds fishy to me. Here is the text.
LG
Hello ,
Thank you for your response for Music teacher for my daughter. Her name is Deborah and she is 18 years of age, she reads and understand musical notes and plays guitar really good. She developed love for Music about 10 months ago after the death of my wife. I want her to learn more from you thus this lesson would take her mind off the death of her Mother.
Please be informed that, my daughter is a beginner and you would teach her from the elementary stage, she would be having a 8 weeks, 4 times a week and for an hour private lesson (please let me know the total rate for the above specified times of lesson and what days of the weeks would be suitable for you). I would be making arrangements with my PA to issue and make the payment to you in form of Certified Cashiers Check. My daughter is due to be in US for her holidays and lesson in less than 3 weeks which is just round the corner and i want her to begin lessons on the 11th of June and so there is limited time. As soon as i have your full name and address including your contact number to which the payment would be issued and sent to, i would immediately pass it to my PA who would immediately issue and send the payment to you. I await your urgent response to these.
Regards,
Lee Mark
+447024086909
— On Sat, 5/23/09, :
From:
Subject: Re: PAYMENT AND LESSON ARRANGEMENT.
To: “Lee Mark”
Cc: “lee.mark2009″
Date: Saturday, May 23, 2009, 1:31 PM
On May 23, 2009, at 8:12 AM, Lee Mark wrote:
> Hello Tutor,
> I am really sorry to bother you,i was not able to access your
> last mail message,please be sure to reply with our previous
> corespondent……..Thanks for you past and present co-operation,i
> hope to read from you soon..
> Lee Mark.
> +447024086909
Hi Mr. Mark.
Thank you for your interest! To assist you better I need to ask some questions. What kind of music does your daughter perform and who referred you to me?
On May 21, 2009, at 2:31 PM, Lee Mark wrote:
> My name is Lee Mark . My daughter would be coming for 2 months holiday in the US and i want her to use the period of her holiday to learn music,beginning from June 11th. Could you please provide me with your rates, Location of lesson and qualifications and then we can move on from there. I await your quick response as soon as possible,
> Thanks
> Lee Mark
>
July 22nd, 2008 at 1:13 pm
Google Massacre Says...
Thanks for the heads up…